top of page

The Beauty of our King

Sometimes I look around and think about what God has been doing it my life and it just takes my breath away.

I can’t believe I’m here.

Sometimes that moment comes when I’m laying in bed at night right after I’ve talked to my family back home. Sometimes it comes when I walk out of the house and see Prayer Mountain. Sometimes it comes when I’m at Kruger and watching a lion, zebra or giraffe just walk across the road. Sometimes it comes when I arrive home at night and look up at the stars. Sometimes it comes when I’m in the community loving on the kids. Sometimes it comes when I look out of my kitchen window and see a little warthog family eating grass on the farm.

Whatever the situation, God has been absolutely taking my breath away during this past season.

There is a song that I love by Bethel Music. One of my favorite verses sings: Wide eyed and mystified / May we be just like a child / Staring at the beauty of our King

During the awestruck moments this song rings through my head. I am staring at the beauty of the King. Whether that be in the people in the community, in the stars, in the wildlife or whatever it may be - I serve an amazing God. All of creation declares His glory, and after these past few months I can say that with confidence. (I even sat outside for an hour one day staring at a lizard because I thought it was so cool. And If you know me at all, I do not think lizards are cool).

So I thought I would give an update of all the amazing things God has been doing in my life and around here in Badplaas in these past few weeks.

Basically right after the Living Hope Family Church team left, we had a week break and then another team arrived. This team was a medical team from Charleston, South Carolina. I felt right at home with all of their camo and Southern accents.

We set up a free clinic at Nhlazatshe, which is about 30 minutes outside of town. There were 20 doctors (or students) and two dentists. They all jumped in and worked their butts off. It was so impressive. I definitely had to take a break or two, but they just powered through. Major props to everyone in the medical field!

The clinic was amazing. The team saw almost 1,000 patients during the five days of the clinic! Not only did we see hundreds of people get the medical attention they needed, but we also saw countless miracles. Here are a few of my favorite stories from the week:

It was the first day and I was in a group praying for the people in the waiting room before the saw the doctor. We would ask the translator to find out what was wrong with the person waiting and then asked if we could pray for healing before they saw the doctor. Everyone that I encountered said yes. A couple hours in, I had my own group and was leading the prayer over this one lady. She was middle aged and had pain over most of her body, but also had arthritis in her hands. I prayed over her knees and legs and then took her hands to pray for the arthritis. When we were done praying, I asked how her legs and hands felt. She said her legs didn’t feel much different but when she moved her hands, a look of complete shock came over her face. She grinned and said the pain was gone from her hands! Thank you, Jesus!

———

Later that same day, I was praying over an elderly woman (go-go) who basically had pain all over. I prayed for her once and didn’t see much of a change. She then told me that she had a pain in her side. Earlier that day, a member of the team, Molly, felt like the Lord was telling her to pray over someone who had pain in their side. When the go-go told me about the pain, I went to go get Molly to pray. She came over and we prayed for her again. She said she felt much better after we prayed, but many times people do that just so you go away. So I wasn’t really convinced. She saw the doctor a few minutes later and they asked about the pain in her side - it was written on her chart.

“Oh no that’s gone, Jesus healed me while I was waiting in line.”

Amen! How amazing is that?! The Lord pointed out that lady to Molly much earlier in the day before anyone knew who she was. And now she is healed. Jesus saw her and knew her pain. He wanted to heal her and did. And He does the same for you and me.

———

Another go-go came in later that week whose story was highlighted. She came in with a walker and a lot of pain. While in line, a few of the team members were able to pray and talk with her. When they prayed for the pain in her shoulder, it moved down her back and into her side. That is often a sign that the pain is not something physical, but demonic. Thankfully, the people praying for her recognized that and were able to talk to her more about where that may have come from and lead her through forgiveness. Something immediately changed and she could walk - without her walker. She still went to the doctor and physio just to tell them that Jesus healed her and she didn’t need their help anymore. She walked out of that place with her walker over her shoulder.

Go-go walking away with her walker!

There are so many amazing stories like those, but I could only choose a few to write about. I was able to help out on the prayer team, in the dentist office and at the pharmacy. The whole week was extremely fast paced, but so incredible. I am so honored to be a part of Jesus moving and healing and God’s bigger pictures.

The medical team!

After a crazy week with the medical team, we took a nice vacation in Kruger. One of the dental students on the team stayed in South Africa because he was going on another medical trip and was able to join us in Kruger. Also another missionary joined us from Uganda. She is friends with Ben’s brother and wanted to take a week off, so she came as well! And of course Beth, President of Emoyeni, came with and found a new love for camping! ;) It was a relaxing few days full of laughs and new friends.

Saying goodbye to Beth before she goes back to the States!

And the best part?!

TWO NEW DISCIPLE INTERNS ARRIVED! I’m not alone anymore!

Laurel and Sylvie arrived about a week and a half ago. Because they are still in school, they will only be here two and a half months. They are such a joy to be around and we spend our days doing ministry and our evenings laughing until our sides hurt. I am so excited to see how the Lord uses them this next season and how He grows all of us!

Sylvie, Laurel and I! We made homemade tortillas and had quesadillas and tacos.

Ben and Deanne left for the States for three weeks for Ben’s brother’s wedding. When they come back they are bringing more disciple interns!! Yay!

Saying goodbye before they leave. We miss you two!

I’m still so amazed at how much God is teaching me over here.

How much I need Him daily.

How much I’m not capable of.

How I should walk in my true identity of royalty as a daughter of the King.

How much He is doing for me that I don’t even realize all the time.

I’ve been here four and a half months and I have six months left to go and I cannot wait to see what He has in store for me.

Prayer Requests:

-Sylvie and Laurel would continue to adjust well to South African life.

-Safe travels for Ben and Deanne and the new girls when they come back.

-The young people in the community who don’t know their true identity in Christ.

-Freedom from the strongholds for the people in Badplaas.

In Christ,


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page