top of page

Life Lately

Since my last update, so many fun things have happened! Here is an update of the highlights:

I’ll start off by sharing a picture of where I live. I took this a while ago and wasn’t sure if I ever shared a picture of the two houses on the farm. I live in the main house (the one on the left).

We also have frequent visitors on the farm. This picture was taken from the kitchen window. It’s a baby warthog! Usually there are two babies and a mama, I think the other two were hiding. This little babe is just munching on some grass near our station where we de-husk macadamia nuts.

We there Toby, a boy we work with in the community, a birthday party! He and his sister were some of the first children Emoyeni worked with. They have been such a joy to get to know. Toby turned 13, so we invited him to the farm and had pizza and cake!

What would a birthday party be without some bubbles and face paint?!

One morning I woke up to a beautiful sight of ants! I walked out of my room and saw mass of ants around my sink, and honestly didn’t know what it was for a second. These pictures don’t really do it any justice, but the ants were piling on top of each other - it was so thick! Definitely one of the craziest things I’ve ever seen.

Kids Club has been super fun lately! (More on that later). One week we had potato sack races! Man, was that fun! The kids had a great time and really got into it. Below is a video of them singing a song when the races were done.

Two more discipleship girls came! Virginia and McKinley both just graduated college and are here for a year. Virginia graduated with a political science degree and has a heart for the orphan crisis. McKinley is a nurse and has already seen a few patients! Here is my favorite picture of the five of us. Shout out to Ben for the great photography skills.

Vimbai has a ministry here called Girls with Vision. V minsters to girls ages 12 to 18 and just talks to them about life. I’ve had the privilege of going to Girls with Vision a few times and absolutely loved it. Most of these girls don’t have an older woman to talk to about things and don’t know simple things that are taught in the States. Girls with Vision is such an awesome opportunity to really pour into and love on these girls.

A few weekends back, V hosted a Girls with Vision camp at Prayer Mountain. We were really involved and got to spend a lot of time with the girls.

We played lots of fun games:

Got to dance in the middle of the of the group:

Eat “African style” with our hands (by the way this is my favorite meal EVER, so get prepared for me to make it for everyone back home!):

I got to share my testimony with the girls at camp and I think (hope) they learned something from it. Everyone said they were so concentrated and into while I was speaking so that is encouraging! Those girls really found a way into my heart that weekend.

We also made a birthday cake for our friend Eric! He comes to church and hangs out with us sometimes. He is a sweet guy and just turned 18. We all joke about his birthday cake because it has baby blue icing, which basically screams, “It’s a boy!” We had a great vision for the cake but the execution was a little shaky. But hey, it was still good!

Happy 4th of July! Turns out, South Africans don’t get as jazzed about the 4th as Americans do (duh). But we still decided to celebrate! We started out celebration out by singing the Star Spangled Banner and then Courtesy of the Red, White and Blue by Toby Keith. Very American. We grilled (not braai like South Africans say) cheeseburgers and made American fries, not South Africans chips. And of course we had to dress as American as possible so we all turned out hats backwards and I wore my Peach State Pride shirt and flannel. Lots of comments from the South Africans. What a great 4th it was though!!

Like I said before, Kids Club has been super fun lately. Because of school break, we haven’t had normal Kids Club. The past week we’ve gone down to the field and just started playing soccer or jump rope. When you bring out a soccer ball, kids will come. It has been so fun because the games brought in a whole new group of kids. We got to play and minister to them. We jump roped, played soccer and had face paint! What a fun week!

We went to a sakkie, an Afrikaans dance! It was a lot of fun, but I definitely wasn't good at it!

In Christ,


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page