top of page

The Church

I’m not really sure where to start.

This past month and a half has been a turning point in my time here in huge ways.

I guess I’ll begin with The Dam Church.

Remember the blog post I wrote a few weeks back about the changing of seasons? Well, God has officially brought me into a spring. I felt like the final transition was in mid-July with something we like to call The Dam Church.

A pastor we work closely with goes a couple kilometers out of town and does a farm ministry. He invited us to join him one week, so we were all really excited about this opportunity. No one had any idea what it would be like, but we were told to come prepared to share something.

Every once and a while, we do something fun called a treasure hunt. Basically you ask the Lord to point out something specific in someone so you can either minister to the person or pray for them. For example, before we went to the farm ministry, I asked the Lord to point something out to me and toes/feet popped in my head. I knew I was obviously supposed to pray for someone’s feet while there. (I’ll get to the rest of this story later).

So we all meet up with the translator and head out of town. We weren’t really sure where but that’s what makes following Jesus so much fun - you have no idea where He’s going to take you but it is always an adventure!

We eventually drive up to a dam, which is about 25 minutes outside of town. We were greeted by a few women and then taken into one of the homes on the lake. We greet a few more people and then all going into a small garage area that has a bed, some chairs and a few other storage things.

This wasn’t what I expected at all. First, I thought we would be on a farm. We weren’t. I also thought we were going to be doing some kind of children’s ministry. Also not the case. Not sure where I got that thought from but it’s what I was preparing for. We were a team of 10 and there were probably 10 additional people in the room with us. We started the night off with worship.

And that’s when the night went from a little uncomfortable to the overwhelming presence of the Lord.

Like, unreal. I knew in that moment that this is what Heaven sounds like.

After worship, we went around and introduced ourselves. A few of the girls got to share what they had prepared and we were able to pray over people after each person shared. We then had the opportunity to share what was on our treasure list.

Like I mentioned earlier, I had toes/feet on my list. So I asked if anyone needed prayer over that area. Two ladies raised their hand and we were all able to pray over them. In that moment, Jesus came down and healed the two ladies! Amen!!! More people were healed that night and one lady even got saved! We had an awesome celebration and we know Heaven did as well.

The whole time we were crammed into a little garage. We didn't speak the same language. There weren’t many people. But it was one of the most powerful nights I’ve had the privilege to be a part of. It almost felt like we were a part of the secret underground churches you hear about in China.

It might not seem like this amazing, incredible night I built it up to be in the beginning, but it was. I have never felt God’s presence so thick in one place. Even in a little garage, He was there. And He was moving.

That night started a fire in me that continues to grow. The next weekend we attended the Grace and Glory International Conference that Pastor Tendai and his wife Vimbai put on a few times a year. I attended one in February when I first got to Africa, and I thought that was a good conference. Ha! This conference blew the last one out of the water! The Holy Spirit was moving in incredible ways!

Lots of people had radical encounters with the Lord that night, including myself. On the last night of the conference, I so clearly felt the Lord show me His power and then tell me it was my turn to be used by Him. Say what?! I knew that He was bringing me out of a winter and into a spring, but I had no idea what that meant! I still don’t, but I think He’s got some big plans for me.

My time here is quickly dwindling down, but I know my relationship with Emoyeni and the people I have met here is not over. I don’t know if God is calling me back here long term, but I definitely don’t think I’m done here.

Whatever you have in store for me, Lord, I’m ready.

In Christ,


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page